Super Quick Tex-Mex Salad

Tonight I whipped up something that reminded me of my days in Texas. A little bit of cumin, lime, and everything saucy. Only took about 40 minutes to make and the result…… y’all  would be impressed.

072 074 050 061062063066070

Marinate the chicken for about 30 minutes in a Ziploc bag. Here’s what you need inside that bag.

  • 1 lime, rolled on the counter, zested, and juiced.
  • 4 cloves of garlic, crushed in a garlic press.
  • 1 lb. chicken tenders
  • 6 shakes of Cholula hot sauce
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • Salt and pepper

Shake the salad dressing together in a Ball® jar. I was inspired by this Tex-Mex dressing but I mixed it up slightly.

  • 8 oz. sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons mayo
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • Heaping ¼ teaspoon cumin
  • Heaping ½ teaspoon chili powder
  • ½ cup chunky salsa
  • Chopped cilantro. I failed at having this.
  • Salt

Grill the chicken and prep the other fixin’s for the salad.

  • 3 heads of romaine lettuce, chopped, rinsed, and spun in salad spinner.
  • 2 tomatoes cored, finely chopped, and generously seasoned with salt and pepper. Tomatoes and salt are BFF’s.
  • 6 scallions, finely chopped.
  • 1 can of black beans, rinsed and drained.
  • 1 can of corn, drained.
  • Avocado, sliced and seasoned with S & P. I failed at this step too.
  • Crunchy tortilla strips. I failed at this. I think I deserve a C- at grocery shopping.

After chicken rests, slice it up and put everything together! This made 3 LARGE salads that were incredibly delicious despite my horrible grocery shopping. The only thing I had leftover was beans and corn. Save those for the next stuffin’ session….

075

Leave a Reply

