This Stollen has Stolen my Heart

What did I make on Thanksgiving? Garmisch Nut Stollen, a beautiful citrus infused German Christmas bread. One bite of it and you are immediately transported to the enchanting Alpine village of Bavaria where this decadent, walnut-filled bread originates.  As the December 1979 issue of Cuisine magazine describes it, “at Christmastime Bavaria is a snow-covered wonderland. Carols and sleigh bells echo softly through the air. The pungent smell of freshly baked gingerbread wafts from warm and cheery bakeries and rosy-cheeked children gaze wide-eyed at the holiday treasures within.”

009 017 070

“The windows, ablaze with candlelight, cast an iridescent glow over the icy whiteness.” Okay, my heart has officially melted.

Maybe that explains why I made Christmas bread for Thanksgiving? Who knows, but I do know that if you live in the snowy tundra (like me), you NEED to make this!  It will bring you such comfort and delight that I cannot even begin to describe it in words. My cheeks are rosy just writing this….

Check out the recipe here, I agree with this blogger that the pictures help 1,000%.

It makes two loaves… I greedily saved one for today but apparently there is only a 1/8th left? I cry like Flo Rida.

Loaf 1- I gave this one away. Sorry no photographs of this cut. Definitely has MORE filling…. oh well. This is ThanksGIVING right??

050

Loaf 2

042  049

Few things I changed up: I switched the lemon zest for orange, because personally I prefer oranges, AND I let the dough autolyse, or rest, for 5-10 minutes before kneading. ALWAYS do this for dough; I swear it saves you like 5 minutes of kneading.

I NEED to go to this Christ Child Market and gluttonously shovel down Bratwursts, glazed fruit, and Bavarian treats galore! I saw Bacon Cake in this issue too…..has anyone made that???? Sounds like heaven. I wish my grandmother and mom were still around to tell me. They were WAY more German than me–50% and 25% respectively, meaning I’m like what? 13%?

073    066    054 062 063051053

Are you 100% German? Marry me.

Leave a Reply

