BBQ Chicken Pizza

When the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that’s amore.

One of my favorite pies to make? BBQ chicken. I am not sure if CPK really invented this…but I am obsessed. I order it every time I see it on a menu, but the majority of the time I am disappointed.  Seriously, this is so incredibly simple to make, how can they screw it up?

I do not know. But I do know a foolproof way to make it at home.

066068

Here’s what you need:

  • Pizza Dough, I make my own (I promise one day I will share my recipe), but store-bought will work just fine. Sometimes it is hidden in the grocery store’s freezer section or bakery.
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • BBQ sauce
  • Red onion
  • Green onion, chopped
  • Whole rotisserie chicken

First things first. Get your pizza stone in the oven and preheat that bad boy to 475°F. The hotter the better. If you can go higher than this, you are a rockstar.

Now grate the cheddar cheese and thinly slice the onion. The onion tells you where to cut it, just follow the lines. Taking you back to Kindergarten I know.

032

Perfect. Now shred the chicken meat. I’m going to pick your bones.

034

Generously mix the Chicken with BBQ sauce. I like a combination of Rudy’s and Sweet Baby Ray’s. Do whatever you want, just do NOT skimp on sauce.

037

Lightly flour a clean work surface and roll out dough. I use my trusted French rolling pin, SHHH, don’t tell Mario Batali.

043045

Just get the dough as thin as possible. Here’s a cool technique if you want to do it correctly.

Looking good. Sprinkle corn meal on wooden pizza paddle and carefully place pizza dough on top. Brush on a generous layer of  BBQ sauce, again I like the combination of my two favorite sauces.

049

Those flecks of magic are from the Rudy’s sauce—- the best BBQ sauce on earth (I think).

Almost time to eat, just sprinkle on the toppings…

060   062

Beautiful. Slide into the oven.

063064

Bake until crispy and cheese is bubbling. Roughly 7-8 minutes.

Slice up, drizzle with additional BBQ sauce, and voilà!

065 069

This freezes incredibly well too. You can even freeze the unbaked pizza, just like you see in the grocery store.

Leave a Reply

