Oldie but a Goodie

Wow, I totally forgot to post this before Christmas. Whoops. Will you forgive me?

I have read a few blogs and surprisingly enough, even a whole book about Cake Pops. Everyone wants to complicate them and add in all these extra steps, but guess what I learned? You don’t need to waste anytime with that nonsense!

My laziness actually resulted in something positive. WOOO–HOOOOO!!!! Vicki Gunvalson does it better, I know.

Anyway here is my version of Christmas pops.

047

I know they are not as aesthetically pleasing as Bakerella’s, but they are delicious!!!

And regular chocolate works perfectly here… just keep them refrigerated. Everyone says this is a big no-no, but I rebelled.

  • Crumble leftover cake into pieces and mix with your favorite icing. Since I used leftover cake from a mix I made my own cream cheese frosting. Generally speaking, I try and make my food 1/2 homemade and 1/2 processed. Meaning if I make boxed spaghetti, I try and make my own sauce. As I digress, for these pops, I used a ratio of about 2/3 cake to 1/3 frosting.
  • Roll the mixture into equal sized balls, stick a lollipop stick in the middle, cover with saran wrap, and refrigerate the pops until sturdy.

028

  • Temper chocolate over a double boiler. I used my favorite chocolate in the world, Scharffen Berger.
  • Place sheet of wax paper next to your work area. You want to be able to dip, place down quickly, and sprinkle on toppings.
  • Twist the stick as you dip it into the chocolate and gently tap off as much excess as possible.
  • Place on wax paper and immediately sprinkle with desired toppings. Repeat until all pops are dipped.
  • Cover with saran wrap and refrigerate until hardened.

047 041 035

 

Change the sprinkles and these are suitable for ANY time of year.

Leave a Reply

